Contract Work Hours and Safety Standards Act, and; Copeland Anti-Kickback Act. Follow these tricks, and you can still have a life, while putting in your 16 hours a day. I am going to get paid overtime, but I didn't get to take a dinner break. Well, minus at least eight for sleeping, 30 minutes for the commute each way, another hour to get ready for bed at night and prep for work in the morning. Employees who work more than ten (10) hours in a day are entitled to a second 30-minute meal break.. Rest breaks … Before I was a freelancer, I occasionally worked 16-18 hours a day, at multiple jobs, often doing jobs I did not love. However, there is no clear consensus about the length of the extended workday. Some resting periods or downtime takes place at the workplace. Meal Breaks and State Law . Related Links. An employee is entitled to one 30-minute paid or unpaid break after the first 5 hours of work for shifts that are between 5 and 10 hours long. The employer can refuse because its obligation under the Code is to grant one 30-minute break in a period of 5 consecutive hours of work, in order to avoid giving two 30-minute breaks in the day. Stop Working Out. Employers must provide employees with at least a 30-minute meal break for every 8 hours of continuous work. 1. The Working Time Regulations 1998 apply across the UK. In addition, employees must be provided with at least a 10-minute rest break for every 4 hours worked in a day. I am a SEO freelancer so some time when i have 3-4 projects that time i work around 12 to 14 hours a day. So legally, someone working a 12-hour shift would still only require a 20-minute break. If the child is 14 or 15 years old, they may not work more than 8 hours in one day, more than 48 hours in one week, and between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. if a school day is the next day. Work breaks entitlement. Minors in the entertainment industry who work for at least 5 ½ hours They also must have at least a 12-hour break between work day 30 to