Open with a Hook . The hook for your essay often appears in the first sentence.The opening paragraph includes a thesis sentence.Some popular hook choices can include using an interesting quote, a little-known fact, famous last words, or a statistic. Both of these formulas help you set the “mood” for your further presentation, so try using them interchangeably on different occasions. What follows is 12 hooks that will grab your audience's attention—and keep it. Hook #1: Curiosity Hook “After 15 years of trial and error, research, and blood, sweat, and tears, I’ve finally found out what makes the difference between a good presenter and a great one. I work in IT, and I talk a lot with customers about cloud computing. The Hook is best used at, but not limited to, the beginning of the first lesson of a topic. It’s…” That’s an example of a curiosity hook. While most of the shit we learn in school is useless, this lesser-known literary maneuver is wildly powerful for the entrepreneur, marketer, writer and snow cone vendor looking to sell like hell with the written word.. This may be one of the popular first-time presentation tips, but don’t rush to discard it. How would your hook be different if it were a group of middle school students or the Board of Education? 5 presentation hooks to get you started A short story. Stream ad-free or purchase CD's and MP3s now on Amazon.com. Permit Fly Presentation – Setting the Hook. And to take the analogy a step further, it should also be the right hook for your audience. In traditional academia (that word makes me want to vomit), there is a writing technique called the hook sentence. Presenting the Hook comes from the scene where we are first introduced to Dustin Hoffman’s rendition of Captain Hook. 1. You find ways to make your long road lead to their shortcut. The Hook strategy can be done in multiple ways and should be done with energy, producing a promising, encouraging outcome for your students. - Presenting the Hook by Hptm Max